Skip navigation
All Places > All Things PI - Ask, Discuss, Connect > Ideas

Display a message box when the user tries to assign a limit trait twice

score 1
You have not voted Submitted
Originally posted on UserVoice

Currently, if a user assigns to an attribute A a limit trait that is already used by another attribute B under the same parent attribute, then attribute A will gain the limit trait and attribute B will silently lose the limit trait.

Silent changes that affect how the PI Asset Framework works are never a good thing. Consider displaying a message box in PI System Explorer if the user tries to assign a previously assigned limit trait.

For example, "The Target limit trait is already assigned to attribute B. Do you want to remove the Target limit trait from attribute B and assign it to attribute A?".

PI Builder should refuse, with an error message, to publish changes that involve duplicate limit trait assignment.

Comments