7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 30, 2015 3:24 PM by bshang

Newbee: What is needed to get PI Web API?

JensPr

I am absolutely new to PI (though I have worked for several years with another process historian).

We are running a PI system here in a big refinery, unfortunately I am not the admin.

I am looking into writing some dynamic PHP web pages with PI data. And I came across the PI Web API and PHP class, brilliant!!

So what do I need to get going?

- Is there any additional license that has to be purchased? (How to get it)

- What is the minimum PI version we have to run, to get the web API?

- What has to be configured?

(Sorry, if this is the wrong place to ask these questions, as said before, I am new to PI and this website, so I appologize..)

• Re: Newbee: What is needed to get PI Web API?
          Rhys Kirk

Hello and welcome from the dark side (other process historian) into the light (PI)!

You can see the system requirements for PI Web API here:

https://techsupport.osisoft.com/Products/Developer-Technologies/PI-Web-API/System-Requirements

You can find the PI Web API documentation here:

https://livelibrary.osisoft.com/LiveLibrary/web/pub.xql?c=t&action=home&pub=DeveloperTechnologies-v1&lang=en#addHistory=…

Don't forget to come back and ask lots of questions!

Eugene Lee

Regarding the license issue, the Developer Technologies are now free for download! You can download it and play around with it.

PI Developer Technologies now freely available for download

However, if you want to deploy the application that you build in a production environment, you will need to contact your account manager to get a runtime license that we call the 'PI System Access (PSA) License'. More details about this license can be obtained from your account manager.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
                JensPr

Thanks a lot. These information got me going.

The only remaining thing that did became clear to me: