When you delete a tag, the history of that tag in the Primary archive is removed. After any of the older archives that contain data are reprocessed, then any deleted tags will have their data remove during the reprocess.
If at all possible I would recommend not deleting tags. You may find that someone will request the data at a later time. You can make security changes on the tags so that they do not show up in searches if required.