19 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2016 1:43 PM by Rashmi Branched to a new discussion.

Bad numeric constant

Rashmi

Hi,

I'm connecting to PI AF via a powershell script (connectionstring is defined).

my db query runs fine on PI SQL commander. the name of the column is 100speed. To ahndle this I had put"100speed" and column value is fetching correctly now. The same query I ahve placed inside the powershell script. Which executing teh script from the powershell cmd prompt, I see the error:"bad numeric constant:100  (Parser error). Any suggestion please?

Regards,Rashmi

• Re: Bad numeric constant
          Roger Palmen

Could you show the powershell script? or at least the section that is causing issues? It's difficult to assess the issue with just a description.

Rashmi

Hi,

Please find the powershell script here.

Line number 157 is the problem.

not sure whether any other syntax error I have. I'm very new to the powershell script writing

Roger Palmen

Hi,

Looking at the script, you access AF using the OLEDB Enterprise provider.

I think it's a syntax issue. Looking at this section:

$query3 = "SELECT eh.Name Element, tc.height,

case tc."100speed" when -1 then 'NaN' end, "100speed",
                      case tc."90speed" when -1 then 'NaN' end, "90speed", 

My suspicion is that this is due to the quotes in the string. I would suggest to format this using here-strings. Try adding @ before the first line, and after the last line. That way you don't need to worry about escaping the qoutes in your SQL query. Such as:

Start:

$query3 = @"SELECT eh.Name Element, tc.height,

End:

OPTION (FORCE ORDER, IGNORE ERRORS, EMBED ERRORS)"@

The empty line is also not helping here, so remove that one too.

Some tips on multi-line strings in PowerShell: Windows PowerShell Tip: Using Windows PowerShell "Here-Strings"

1 of 1 people found this helpful
                      Rashmi

Hi Roger,