4 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2016 5:49 PM by bshang

Handling Errors returned by GetObserverEvents() method of a AFDataPipe

nkumar_CAT

Hello there,

I am new to OSI PI AF SDK, and trying to read real time data using AFDataPipe. And i know that myDataPipe.GetObserverEvents() returns a collection of AFErrors< TKey> if any error occurred.

I can store errored PIPoint with timestamp (when it occurred) and get the missing PIPoint value via a batch job using method GetRecordedValues().

For my batch job to read missing data for this PIPoint , i need to know timestamp to which i have to capture the values for this PIPoint.

One of the approach i have in mind is to, keep checking the error collection if DataPipe has started to read the values for this errored PIPoint, and then I can capture this timestamp and use this for getting the missing values for this PIPoint for the recorded time interval.

Please let me know if you have better/efficient solution to handle this.  

• Re: Handling Errors returned by GetObserverEvents() method of a AFDataPipe
          gregor

Hello Nitesh,

Do you see the AFErrors collection return different from empty or null? If so can you share some details about the errors contained?

The first thing to do is logging which will allow to investigate further. If there are always the same set items returning errors it may indicate some systematic error or a configuration issues. A retry mechanism will not be of any use for this case.

bshang

Hi Nitesh,

There are at least 2 approaches here:

Approach 1 (simpler):

Inspect AFDataLossException. AFDataLossException Class