4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2016 12:08 PM by pthivierge

Multi-state a String using VBA

Mikeconnors

Hi All,

I'm wondering how to go about multi-stating a rectangle so that when particular PI tags trigger, it changes color. The tricky part is that I need it to trigger based on String values and I don't see why you can't do that in VBA. I am quite new to VBA and the biggest problem I'm having is where to actually put the damn function once I've written it (I learnt to multi-state a Label using a different thread and want to apply the same logic, that thread is here: Create a multi-state of a value in a Form using VBA ). should it be written directly in ThisDisplay, or should I create a Class? below is what I have so far and it doesn't work. I've tried to create a class but it doesn't compile

Public Declare Sub Sleep Lib "kernel32" (ByVal dwMilliseconds As Long) ' Library containing sleep function

Dim Flash As Boolean
      Dim tagnameAllBuffStat As String
      Dim tagvalueAllBuffStat As String

Dim tag As PIPoint
      Dim mysrv As Server

Flash = True
      Set mysrv = PISDK.Servers.Item("WAIOHistorianSandbox")

tagnameAllBuffStat = mysrv.PIPoints("Perth.EasternRidge.AF.All_Buffer_Status")
      tagvalueAllBuffStat = mysrv.PIPoints(tagnameAllBuffStat).Data.Snapshot

Public Function ErrorStatus(ByVal Flash)

' Infinite loop to flash between red and blue if statement is true (Multi-state)
              Do While Flash = True

'Set conditions for multi-state
              If buttonEasternRidge.BackgroundColor = RGB(0, 0, 128) And tagvalueAllBuffStat = "OK" Then
                 Me.buttonEasternRidge.BackgroundColor = RGB(100, 0, 0)

Else: Me.buttonEasternRidge.BackgroundColor = RGB(0, 0, 128)

End If
              Sleep (300)
              DoEvents
          Loop

End Function

Thanks for your help, let me know if you need more details.

Michael

• Re: Multi-state a String using VBA
          John Messinger

Michael,