10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2009 4:54 PM by spilon

Basic Unit Conversion from Module

brilabry

I'm very new to ACE and trying to develop a very basic calculation where I find all the TEMP tags in a module and convert their units.  Note that I do not plan to use the wizard to import the points since there are a large number of tags. 

I'm trying to figure out why my DEGC variable is not returning a value even through the MyInputAlias string is valid.  Should be pretty straightforward and probably just missing something obvious since I'm not too familiar with all the properties/methods available yet. 

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. 

• Re: Basic Unit Conversion from Module
          cescamilla

If you thing it may be something straightforward let us cover the basics first

Have you checked that the Pi point exists?
          Does it have a snapshot value?
          Does it have a recorded value?
          Does the PI ACE application have permissions to see that point?
          Does the point fail in run and in debug/test?

michaelh

Cristobal Escamilla

let us cover the basics first

How can you imagine the code like this

Private MyInput As PIACEPoint
              Private MyResult As PIACEPoint

Protected Overrides Sub InitializePIACEPoints()
                 MyInput = GetPIACEPoint("MyInput")
                 MyResult = GetPIACEPoint("MyResult")

End Sub

might work?
              How might GetPIACEPoint("any string") distinguish between an Alias or a PI Tag or between an Input and an Output point?

It has to look up the "any string" in the ACE internal Module, related to the context (not in the Context module itself).
              And there it isn't, unfortunately.

Techsupport knows:

Problem: Getting NULL returned from GetPIACEPoint

Customer is using GetPIACEPoint outside of the supported ACE functionality.

Answer: GetPIACEPoint should only be used by the ACE wizard.