15 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2016 9:11 AM by gregor

ProcessBook Add-in

dupuism

Hello all,

I am about to start writing an add-in for ProcessBook using VB. The add-in is supposd to make it possible to edit PI Tag values directly from processbook. Before I started since I am new to ProcessBook and the PI system I wanted to make sure there was not already a way to do this incorporated into ProcessBook. Also if anyone as a good place to start or something I should reference to learn how to code in ProcessBook that would alos be of great help.

Thanks in advance

• Re: ProcessBook Add-in

The Details pane is the only built-in way you can write data back to PI, and it's only for Annotations (i.e. not the actual values themselves). This is as of the current version of PI ProcessBook (v3.2.0.0) and I don't know whether OSI has plans to change that behaviour in the future (I couldn't find anything in the ProcessBook Known Issues or on the Engineering Plan...).

That said, the Details Pane add-in simply makes use of the PI SDK "Archive Editor" control - it does use it in read-only mode but this PI SDK control does support read/write. Your best bet at this point would be to wrap this control up in a .NET ProcessBook add-In (use one of the templates in the "Supporting Files" section of the Download Center) and implement it such that it supports data edits.

Hope this helps...

It has been suggested to OSI in this thread that manual inputs are very much in demand from ProcessBook users, your post also emphasises this.  I would expect to see this in a future version (next generation?) of ProcessBook but don't expect it anytime soon (unless OSI are working on this already).