6 Replies Latest reply on May 4, 2010 1:25 AM by RJKSolutions

PI HA, MS Clustering and PI Collective Manager

BrianHeritage

Okay, so I just signed up for vCampus and this is my first post.  Hope I don't flub this one.  Not sure if this is the right place for this but I'll start here move into other sections of vCampus if I need to.

Background

I have been working with PI for over four years now.  My job title here at Telvent Canada is Subject Matter Expert - PI.  Basically what this means is that if there is a project anywhere in the company (we are international and cross many industries) concerning our SCADA system then there is going to be PI as we are fully integrated with it.  The one thing that is commonplace with my client base is that they always use and trust MS Clustering.

As I said, I've been installing PI Servers for years.  Back in the days prior to HA, installation and configuration of a PI Server was simple, even if MS Clustering was involved.  The install kits recognized that you were trying to set up a clustered server and the install wizards would ask the appropriate questions and then allow installation on each node of the cluster.

Near Present Day Experiences

Moving forward to a few years ago, HA is introduced.  We now have this thing called a PI Collective.  We also have a new tool to create and manage this PI Collective; the PI Collective Manager.  I have to say it is a great tool and makes creating a Collective, adding a Secondary server to a Collective and Re-initializing a Secondary server; easy to do and the little green checkmarks in the display gives most of my clients the warm fuzzies.

For my clients who already had a clustered PI Server and upgraded to HA or new clients who got HA but also wanted clustering, we couldn't just use the PI Collective Manager. We had to make use of a combination of the Cluster Adminisrator and the PI Collective Manager, as well as a few commands at the Command-Prompt.

Present Day Experiences