Martin.Thivierge

AF database and corporate architecture

Discussion created by Martin.Thivierge on May 25, 2010
Latest reply on Jun 3, 2010 by dblack

Hi all,

As a PI consultant, I face different situations that require different solutions.  With PI AF, I have been involved in defining a corporate framework to allow development on the promising Analytic platform of the PI server.

At the moment, the strategy that was adopted was to have a self-contained database for each new project that needed a PI AF template-based platform.  The main driver behind this was nothing else but the fact that we can create as many database in AF as we want and the fact that we can segregate these environments during development was also seen as a good thing (with many developers from various company on different project, we didn't want to face situation where someone would crash the system and impact other developers).

However, nothing is so simple in this world and I'm facing a new scenario that kind of opens my eyes on different alternative and issues regarding the corporate strategy we adopted in the early day.  I'd like to probe the good people on vCampus for opinions and solutions.

Here's the new situation:

I need a new hierarchy of elements, with new templates to deliver a reporting infrastructure.  However, some of the configured data that will be stored in AF are not expected to be PI point but rather using attributes of type Double.  The trick is that we already have a calculation engine build in AF (using its own database and template completely segregated from the external world) and I'd like to be able to link the AF attributes of the new database in the attribute of the other (external) AF database. This would eliminate requirement for having to replicate multiple set of data in different DB.  To achieve something like this, it seems obvious that I now need to review my initial concept of having segregated database.