10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2011 7:56 AM by muwpa

Trend Events

muwpa

Hi v-campus community.

I'm using VS2010 and created a c# project from the Docking Window template which is provided in the Download section.

What I want to do is to show some trend details (tag name, desc,...) in this DockWin. This DockWin should only be filled when a trend is selected. If not the window should be empty. Sounds easy? Unfortunately not for me :(.

I don't know exactly how to get the data from the selected trend. I know "events" are a good suggestion, but I'm new to this topic.

How can I catch the necessary event(s) and get access to the selected trend?

Thanks in advance.

• Re: Trend Events
          muwpa

Ops, I recognized I put my post in the wrong section...think it belongs to "General .NET Development" or "PI ProcessBook/ActiveView and Microsoft Office Development".

Sorry for that.

Asle Frantzen

Hello Kerstin

I haven't tried exactly what you are looking to accomplish, but I would start by checking out the help files provided with ProcessBook.

If you click the Help menu in ProcessBook and select the second option - "PI ProcessBook VBA Language Reference" - you'll be able to browse through a lot of available options. I believe the different tags displayed in a trend are called "traces" - so you could start by checking out the documentation in the "Trend Class" section.

There should be a few ways of identifying the different traces for the trend object.

I don't know if that is the best way, and I also don't know if you can do what you're trying to accomplish this way, but give it a try!

(Have you considered what to do if two tags/traces are active at the same time?)

andreas

Kerstin,

very brief - you might want to get first the event for an display activate (in OnConnection):

m_theApp.DisplayActivate += new EApplication_DisplayActivateEventHandler(m_theApp_DisplayActivate);

when the display is activated you can sign up for the event of selecting a symbol: