8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 7, 2017 11:51 AM by VasanthS

Urgent: regarding PI Server connection using C++ ODBC

VasanthS

Hi Team,

I am new to this PI Server, Wanted to execute sql query's in PI Sql commander part of migration project.

What I have done is written a C++ application using ODBC where its connecting to my local MS Sql server using windows authentication and fetches data.

Same application i'm trying to use to connect PI Server and execute query's. But, the connection is failed with below connection string. I do not have Pi server credentials like UID, Password so I am trying with windows authentication to login.

Connection String:

CONSTR=Driver={PI ODBC Driver};Server=[10.64.19.15];Provider Type=PIOLEDBINT;Initial Catalog=piarchive;Provider String ={Data Source=PI Servers;Integrated Security=SSPI;};

Error:

Message: [PIODBC] System.UriFormatException: Invalid URI: The hostname could not  be parsed.

SQLSTATE: 08004

Please let me know what i'm doing wrong here.

Is it possible to connect PI Server using C++ ODBC which i coded for MS Sql Server? Or I need any specific SDK's to connect to PI Server?

Please help me out.

Thanks,

Vasanth

• Re: Urgent: regarding PI Server connection using C++ ODBC
          gregor

Hello Vasanth,

You should be able to connect to PI through PI ODBC with your C++ application.

As indicated by the error message, your Data Source is not properly specified. Have you considered creating a DSN for your PI ODBC connection? The dialog as well allows you to test your connection which can turn out useful in case you are running into authentication issues.

VasanthS

Hello Gregor,

Thanks for your immediate response.

Now, I have changed my connection string,

CONSTR=Driver={PI ODBC Driver};DAS=10.XX.XX.15;Trusted_Connection=Yes;DATA SOURCE TYPE=PIOLEDB;DATA SOURCE=PI Servers;DATA SOURCE OPTIONS={Integrated Security=SSPI;};

with new one I'm getting below error