RJKSolutions

Question on start/stop of a query based on AF configuration change

Discussion created by RJKSolutions on Jan 3, 2012
Latest reply on Jan 10, 2012 by MvanderVeeken

I'm still learning (rapidly) so I still have some obvious questions for you seasoned SI developers.

I've built a query for monitoring data quality (simple quality checks for now) and I store my configuration in AF.  I pull the configuration and define the adapters like so:

#region "Generate input tags from AF Configuration"

// Get some configuration from AF, using defaults for now.
            PISystem af = new PISystems().DefaultPISystem;
            AFDatabase db = af.Databases.DefaultDatabase;
            AFElement rootElement = (AFElement)AFElement.FindObject("Systems\\Monitor\\StreamInsightTest",db);

// Get Attributes to be monitored.
            var attributesToMonitor = from eachElement in rootElement.Elements
                                      where eachElement.Categories.Contains(db.ElementCategories["MonitoredElement"]) 
                                      group eachElement by eachElement into filteredElements
                                      from eachFilteredAttribute in filteredElements.SelectMany(e => e.Attributes.FilterBy(db.AttributeCategories["MonitoredAttribute"]))
                                      select eachFilteredAttribute;

// Generate array of tag names
            string[] inputTags = (from eachAttribute in attributesToMonitor select TrimTag(eachAttribute.DataReference.ConfigString)).ToArray();
            // PI for SI Input Configuration
            var inputTagsConfig = new SnapshotInputConfig() { Server="localhost", StopOnCommunicationFailure = false, PointsQuery = inputTags };

#endregion

#region "Generate output tag from AF Configuration"

// Output PI tag to receive the query result
            string outputTag = TrimTag(rootElement.Attributes["Badval Perc"].DataReference.ConfigString);
            // PI for SI Output Configuration