2 Replies Latest reply on Nov 29, 2017 4:38 PM by dellano

Is there a way for Datalink to only find the nth smallest value?

dellano

I am new to Datalink and I'm not sure how to navigate it yet. I'm looking to make an average of the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th smallest values within an hour for every hour. Any help would be welcome. Many thanks in advance

• Re: Is there a way for Datalink to only find the nth smallest value?
          jru

Hi Marina,

Thanks for posting on PI Square and Welcome to its community

I'm going to preface this post by saying that there is no Datalink Function/Configuration that will find the nth smallest value.  There are some possible workarounds, however.

Method 1: Create a filter expression and use the Calculated Data Function

This method is the easiest to implement.  You are essentially calculating the Minimum for a Tag over an interval while applying a filter that will remove the previous minimum values.  Here's how to configure this:

Min1 will be the absolute minimum of your time interval.  The formula configuration will look something like:

Min2 will be the second lowest value.  In order to get this number, we need to filter out Min1.  Thus we need add create a filter expression.  The syntax of this Excel Formula (Cell F3 in my example) will be:

=Concatenate("'TagName'>",H2)

Where H2 is the value of Min1.

The logic continues with Min3, Min4, and Min5. 

Here's where the approach will depend on what you are after.  If the tag that you are performing this analysis on is a discrete tag (aka you want an event-weighted average), you can just use the Excel Average Formula to get the average of the 5 values.