5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2018 6:46 PM by ErnyC

AF Custom Data Reference to return multiple values

Hi All

I'm studying Custom Data Reference in AF.
      I've successfully developed my first CDR using GetValue. It works as expected, and I'm able to use it in analysis.

What I'm trying to do with next step I to try to return multiple values from Custom Data Reference, and write results to different PI Points.

Please see attached... Is it possible to use GetValues to accomplish this task? Is there any other solution?

• Re: AF Custom Data Reference to return multiple values
          Rick Davin

Hi Ernesto,

You should not be using a custom data reference (CDR) to achieve this.  Understand that a CDR is intended to provide a value at a timestamp for a given attribute, or perhaps provide a range of values over a time range for that same attribute.  And it does so dynamically on demand.  What you are proposing is against the philosophy of a CDR in that you want it to also simultaneously consume the values it provides.  Besides being a serious violation of the principle of Separation of Concerns, it also produces the ill side effect of your CDR writing back to the PI Data Archive on each dynamic request.  What if you access the same time range back to back?  Do you really want to write back to the PI Data Archive repeatedly to the exact same PI Points with the exact same values?

Perhaps you should just write a console application to do what you desire, and run it as a scheduled task.

5 of 5 people found this helpful

Thanks for your answer Rick

and sorry for misunderstanding the use of custom Data Reference.

Let me explain with a real life example:

suppose you need to calculate gas flow rate. It requires an iterative calculation, so it's not possible to use standard analysis.

The result of this calculation needs to be stored (in a PI Point?) to have history, and calculate hourly totalizer, daily totalizer, an so on...