10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 30, 2018 12:54 PM by VasanthakumarR

PI AF communications with PI Archive

glassro0

Hello, I am new to PI.

Background: The PI AF server and PI archive server both restarted last weekend due to windows updates being pushed to them, so although both servers were running, the PI AF server was not getting tag values for the Events and as a result the PI Notifications were not emailed for a few days. I checked the PI Message logs and it appeared all was working fine.

The resolution was to restart the PI AF server. We are also looking into creating a policy to change when windows updates occur on the servers, so they both do not go down at the same time.

Is there a way to identify that the PI AF server and PI Archive server are communication correctly?

Versions:

PI AF Server 2017 R2 2.9.5.8368

PI Data Archive 2017 R2 3.4.415.1188

• Re: PI AF communications with PI Archive
          TimCarmichael

I've experience this issue as well, and I'd like to say I have tested a solution, but to date it is only an idea.

So... this is what I PLAN to do....

Create an analysis to look at a 'busy' tag such as sinusoid - something you know should be updating and set a flag if it is stale (not updating).

Then, create a notification on that flag to have someone check PI or restart AF.

glassro0

Thanks Tim,

Your idea sounds like it would work. I will consider it. I thought maybe there was something in PI System explorer or PI System Management tools that I was not finding.

Robert

gregor

Hello Robert,