4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2013 7:37 PM by Marcos Vainer Loeff

Data transfer to/from PI SDK and Matlab

rehanna

Hello, I have limited experience with the PI SDK and am new to vCampus so I apologize if I've posted in an inappropriate location or if my question has been answered in a different thread.  

I am trying to obtain data from the PI SDK using Matlab and have written the following code: 

sdk = NET.addAssembly('OSIsoft.PISDK');
      sdkcommon = NET.addAssembly('OSIsoft.PISDKCommon');
      sdktimeserver = NET.addAssembly('OSIsoft.PITimeServer');
      pi_sdk =  PISDK.PISDKClass();
      time_start = System.String('15-Sep-2013 11:00:00');
      time_end = System.String('15-Sep-2013 11:01:00');
      PI_DATA.PV = PI_POINT.PV.Data.RecordedValues(time_start,time_end);

The PI tag from which I am grabbing records 1 sec data, but for a given minute generally 30-37 data are returned, not 60.  Similarly, with a separate PI tag that records 1 min data, 2-6 data are returned, not 1.  Any insight into the nature of these data grabs or into better use of the start/end times would be helpful as I'm unfamiliar with the way the data is stored in PI.

Thank you,

Ryan

• Re: Data transfer to/from PI SDK and Matlab
          Marcos Vainer Loeff

Hello Ryan,

Could you please check how many recorded values you can see for the same tag and choosing the same period of time using PI SMT? Do the values received in Matlab are different from the ones shown in PI SMT?

Besides that, please check the exception and compression settings of this tag. When a tag is configured for 1 second scan, it doesn’t mean that is has to record 60 values per minute due to compression and exception tests.

Hope this helps!!

hanyong

Hi Ryan,