4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2013 2:06 PM by helgesonc

PB Add-in Development Breadcrumbs

israelsebw

Hey everyone!

I am new to PI SDK development, and for that matter development in general.

I am making this post to combine in one place several other posts that helped me to get an add-in up and running.

Here we go:

My system spec.'s Windows 7 x64, PB 3.3.0.949, Visual Studio 2012

Setup:

• First thing, we need to download the add-in templates: These are found in the download center in the extras section: http://vcampus.osisoft.com/Custom/downloadcenter/download.aspx.
      • Once you have the templates copied to the ...\My Documents\Visual Studio XXXX\Templates\ProjectTemplates or other path of choice, then you can begin a project

Development:

My first step was to open a template (I chose the Docking Window add-in template) and get it to compile, and allow me to debug. I am not yet focused on making any changes to the template code

4162.Capture.PNG 

• With a unique GUID you now need to build the project and register  "YourAssemblyName.dll" using RegAsm.exe. I did this using the developer commant prompt, navigating to the Procbook directory (where I built the project) and typing "regasm YourAssemblyName.dll".
      • In order to get the code to run in PB it is necessary to Link the add-in to PB through the registry. You will need to run the "AddinReg.reg" file included with the template. I did this manually. 

• If you are running an x64 PC like me, then you need to make sure the you also add the add-in to the x64 part of the registry. I found this information on this post: http://vcampus.osisoft.com/discussion_hall/add_in_microsoft_development/f/11/t/2654.aspx5228.Capture.PNG
      • Remember that every one of these steps are important. Unfortunately I discovered the unique GUID one last and until then could not get the add-in to show up in PB. It was pretty frustrating. As always after you know the correct steps it is obvious why it didn't work.