13 Replies Latest reply on Nov 12, 2015 11:27 AM by QasimGulzar

Need to know more about using PI web api

Flutura

Hello everyone,

In one of my previous posts in a different thread, someone had suggested me to use Rest api for my use case.

So I am basically trying to simulate like a hundred random points sending data to the pi server which in turn should connect to this RESTful API from where data could be sent forward to my existing data pipeline in a format like JSON or similar.

I am really new to PI and needed little clarity as to what way shall I approach this problem. Do I need to use the SDK tool to connect PI server to the REST API?

My understanding is that I should be using ICU's "Random" interface to generate random 100 points, which would send data to the server. From there, I shall be connecting my REST API to fetch data and pass it in JSON format forward.

Please correct me if I am wrong. Also, it would be great if anyone could share some example of this kind of implementation.

• Re: Need to know more about using PI web api
          Marcos Vainer Loeff

Hello Yogini,

As I said on other posts, PI Web API is a RESTful web service on top of the PI System. This works the same way that all RESTful web services works. Hence, if you are not familiar with this type of web service, Google would be the best place for you to start learning.

Once you have learning the basic concepts of RESTful web services, please download and install PI Web API beta. After PI Web API service is up and running, you will have access to the online help (whose address should be: https://webservername/piwebapi/help). It describes all the methods available for you.

If you want to test if PI Web API is working, you can access a similar link like: https://marc-web-sql/piwebapi.

You are supposed to receive an JSON answer like:

{

"Links": {
              "Self": "https://marc-web-sql/piwebapi/",
              "Asset Servers": "https://marc-web-sql/piwebapi/assetservers",