15 Replies Latest reply on Nov 19, 2014 1:24 PM by binod_tiwary

How to get current date in PI AF formula?

binod_tiwary

Hi,

I am very new to PI so please excuse me if this is something very obvious.

My requirement is very simple, I am trying to set the value of an AF attribute by using a 'Formula'. My formula will look like below as I need to return a pre defined value depending on the current month:

If CurrentMonth="April" Then 100 else if CurrentMonth="May" Then 200 else if CurrentMonth="June" Then 800 ..............and so on.

My problem is how to get the current date (is there something equivalent of SQL server GetDate() function in Pi AF) which I can use to work the current month use in the formula.

Any suggestion please. If any alternate approach should be taken

• Re: How to get current date in PI AF formula?

Hello Binod,

Welcome

I am not sure if what you like to do here works with a Data Reference formula because they appear to not understand equations like month('*').

You can however use Asset Based Analytics and write the Analysis result to an AF Attribute. Please review the following Formula:

If (Month('*')=10) Then 100 Else 0

Roger Palmen

In the past i created a custom datareference to deliver datetime values, based on e.g. the query time. E.g. "BOM" would return the timestamp at the beginning of the month for a given query time. Quite easy to build in C#

But for your example, try this approach: Use a lookup table to resolve the value, You can use the %time% substitution parameter to get the current time context into your query.

binod_tiwary