7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 13, 2015 7:28 PM by aseck

Basic question about how to pull data using the RESTFul API

skedastic

I’m very new to OSI, and have some hopefully basic questions about using the RESTFul API. 

Our goal is to poll all devices for data on an interval, say every 100 ms and gather key metrics.

It looks you can use the GET on  '/elements', and start drilling down into each of its 'children', to determine what devices are available that can provide data.

So we can use that to build a map of the ids of each of the sensors, but the question is, what is the most effective way to get the current data for an element?

I can see that when I have an ID I can request its snapshot.. which gives all attributes for an element, so now I have all devices and their possible readings (temperature, ect..), plus the current value.

GET /snapshot

Is there a different way to do this, or a more effective way to poll all sensors for data in realtime?

I see there are also APIs for points and eventFrames, are either of them preferred?

Is getting a Point via an ID the best programmatic way to get data?

Whats the difference between a point and an eventFrame?

GET /points

GET /eventFrames

• Re: Basic question about how to pull data using the RESTFul API
          sdriscoll

Each of the GET requests you mentioned are for fundamentally different parts of the PI Server.

The two main components of the PI Server are the PI Data Archive and the PI Asset Framework (AF). snapshot and points will access the PI Data Archive. elements and eventFrames will access PI AF. AF elements and event frames contain attributes which can be static values, pipoint data (from PI Data Archive), or a few other things. So you want to use the associated GET type to query a specific type (i.e. GET /eventframes for PI AF event frames or GET /snapshot for PI Data Archive snapshot values).