5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2015 5:34 PM by dng

Where is the PI AF Analyses Help file?

DavidMFairchild

I'm new to PI-AF and Analyses and am looking for some documentation on creating analyses.  Does any come with the product?

• Re: Where is the PI AF Analyses Help file?
          asorokina

Hi David,

We have nice youtube learning videos about AF Analytics here:

Asset Analytics with PI AF (Asset Framework) - YouTube

If you are looking for the programmatic related documentation, see OSIsoft.AF.Analysis Namespace chapter in AFSDK.chm.

This file is installed with PI AF Developer Tools, see more information in Daphne's post here:

PI AF SDK Programming References

DavidMFairchild

I went to the YouTube video Anna recommended and found it very helpful.  I had a much simpler calculation, just totalling 4 tags.  But I can't seem to get it to work.  I went back and rewatched the end of the video and I don't see that she did anything to start the calculation running other than check in her work.  I used an existing tag, I changed the PointSource so it would no longer be updated by the PI-Performance Engine.  I tried changing the triggering to Periodic and set it to one minute intervals.  I clicked "Create or Update Data References" but found nothing to update as the tag already existed.

There is one troubling piece.  In the lower right hand corner of the System Explorer ther is a message that says:

"Could not connect to the PI Analysis Service"

I was working from my laptop not the server where PI-AF and PI-Analysis are installed.  So I logged onto the server and looked at the Element and Analyses and the message said, "Connected to the PI Analysis Service."  So I don't thint that is an issue.  Still I get no updates after 45 minutes with two of the input tags updating every 15 seconds.

dng

Hi David,

You are facing 2 issues: 1) PSE on your laptop cannot connect to PI Analysis Service; 2) the calculation is not working.