14 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2016 10:18 PM by JDiaz

Programmatic data dumps from PI

JDiaz

Hello all,

I have about 600 rows of 25 tags in a CSV file that I want to pull from PI. I would like to do this through a program as I will be pulling 1 week worth of data each set of tags for auditing purposes. Is it possible to do this in

Is it possible to do this in PowerShell (I would like to use this tool interface, so I can read the CSV file that contains the sets of tags on a separate line), or can this be accomplished in Excel VBA through the DataLink and PIDSK (is there a data limit size that will create an issue)?

I am a seasoned developer in VBA, JAVA, PowerShell, among other languages. I am new to PI and through my looking found ipisql command, but do not know how to implement it, where do I get the table names from? 

Sorry looking for guidance more than anything else, I imagine I am not the first person to run into massive data dumps for auditing, because this will be performed a couple of times, and the number of queries (600); we want to automate the dumping process as much as possible.

Jaime

• Re: Programmatic data dumps from PI
          Rick Davin

Hi Jaime,

The short answer to your question is "Yes".  That would be yes to PowerShell, VBA, and Java.  The long answer would really revolve around the technology of choice.

I will assume that each row will have 26 columns: one with a timestamp and one for each of the 25 tag values. 

Some of our PowerShell applets may be wrappers to PI SDK, but PowerShell may also use AF SDK calls as well.  VBA would rely on our COM-heavy PI SDK, which is an obsolete platform.  I really haven't worked with PI JDBC but it should work.  Since you're familiar with VBA, you might consider VB.NET and AF SDK.  Then again, if your familiar with managed { } code with Java, then C# and AF SDK should not scare you away.