6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2018 5:53 AM by Eugene Lee Branched to a new discussion.

Basics of the AF SDK

ainwood

I am new to the PI AF SDK (previously used the PI SDK, and before that, the API).

I was playing around using some examples, and used this example as a starting point:

https://techsupport.osisoft.com/Documentation/PI-AF-SDK/html/T_OSIsoft_AF_PI_PIPoint.htm

The code I am following is this code:

// Get the PIPoint from the PIServer on the local computer
      PISystems myPISystems = new PISystems();
      PISystem myPISystem = myPISystems.DefaultPISystem;
      PIServer myPIServer = PIServer.FindPIServer(myPISystem, piServerName);
      PIPoint myPIPoint = PIPoint.FindPIPoint(myPIServer, piPointName);
      // Display information about the PIPoint
      Console.WriteLine("Name of the PIPoint = {0}", myPIPoint.Name);
      Console.WriteLine("ID of the PIPoint = {0}", myPIPoint.ID);
      Console.WriteLine("Type of the PIPoint = {0}", myPIPoint.PointType);
      Console.WriteLine("PIPoint Current Value = '{0}'", myPIPoint.CurrentValue());

This code is all very straight-forward, but I have a few questions related to it.

1.) A link to the PIServer can be found and linked without any reference to myPISystems or myPiSystem, by using the alternative overload ( PIServer myPIServer = PIServer.FindPIServer(serverName);).  A PIPoint can be found and it's value retrieved with only a reference to a myPIServer.  What is the point of first couple of lines of code?  Why is the myPISystems and myPISystem required?

2.) I note that PISystem implements IDisposable, but PISystems doesn't.  This is not intuitive to me.  PIServer also does not require IDisposable.  I guess something under the hood sets these requirements, but I figured that a PIServer was similar to a database, so might need to implement IDisposable, but clearly it doesn't.

• Re: Basics of the AF SDK
          John Messinger

Hi Andrew,

Some interesting questions!