6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2018 10:11 PM by TuiBray

PI AF - If then else statement

TuiBray

Hi.  I'm new at using PI AF so may be completely on the wrong track (I have done a course but many years ago and have not used it since). 

I'm trying to determine the value of a newly created Tag (TagX) based on the value of several other tags.  In Attributes I have loaded the criteria tag values.  Then in Analyses I have created an IF then else statement as below to determine the value of TagX.  My problem is that the If Then Else statement is very large and difficult to edit.  Is there a better way of doing this?

If 'TagA'>25 and 'TagB' < 35 and 'TagC' > 5 and 'TagD'<35 and 'TagE>25 then 'TagF+ 'TagG'- 'TagH'

else (if 'TagA'>25 and 'TagB' < 35 and 'TagC' > 5 and 'TagD'<35 and 'TagE<25  then 'TagI

else (if 'TagA'>25 and 'TagB'>35 and 'TagC'>5 and 'TagD'>35 and DigText('TagJ)="Active" then 'TagK'

else (if 'TagA'>25 and 'TagB'<35 and 'TagC'>5 and 'TagD'>35 and 'TagE>25 and DigText('TagJ)="Active" then 'TagG'-'TagH'

else (if 'TagA'>25 and 'TagB'<25 and 'TagC'<5 and 'TagE>25 and DigText('TagJ)="Active" then 'TagF+ 'TagG''TagH'

else (if 'TagA'>25 and 'TagB'>35 and 'TagC'>5 and 'TagD'<35 and 'TagE>25 and DigText('TagJ)="Active" then 'TagF

else (if 'TagA'<25 and DigText('TagJ)="Active" then 0 else NoOutput()))))))

• Re: PI AF - If then else statement
          sraposo

Hi Tui,

I don't think there is a way in PI System Explorer to expand the expression box. You can copy/paste from a text editor, but then of course you would be missing out on the intellicense provided in the UI.

I was going to go and make a user voice request on our feedback website. Before doing so, can you share how you think this could be made more user friendly? I'd include the details you provide in the request.

Thanks,

Seb

Rick Davin

Hello Tui,