7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2018 2:16 PM by Rick Davin

What is the correct time syntax/format for  get_recorded_values?

ilima

Hello,

I am new to PI system in general and I am trying to get some data from my AF server (as a pandas data frame) through the PI Web API client libraries for Python. The data is a time-series, so I would like to select only a specific date (September 6th,2017) and time interval (1 hour). I am using the function get_recorded_values and I  have tried several data/time formats for the end_time, but, no matter what I try, I keep getting data with timestamps from 2018-05-08... Is there a specific syntax that I should use?

Thanks in advance,

Isabela

• Re: What is the correct time syntax/format for  get_recorded_values?
          tramachandran

Function get_recorded_values is available in GitHub repo:

df1 = client.data.get_recorded_values("pi:\\\\PISRV1\\sinusoid", start_time="<START>", end_time="<END>")

Keep in mind that PI Web API returns timestamps in UTC only and any conversions have to be done on the client side. So you need to take your time zone into account.

Rick Davin

Have you tried Python's datetime.isoformat?  You definitely should keep the default separator of 'T'.  One possible conflict might if the returned string ends with a "Z".  A Python string without a time zone or "Z" is assumed to be UTC, whereas for PI Web API, which makes AF SDK calls under the hood and therefore relies upon .NET Framework, a string without a time zone or "Z" is assumed to be Local time.  Thus if your string lacks time zone info or a "Z", you may need to append a "Z" on  it before passing to the client.

ilima

Thank you Rick and Thyagarajan for your answers.

I've tried passing the end time as a string and as a datetime object and they both produced the same wrong result... Please find below the code I used and the result of df.head():

Code:

### Time as string-------------------------------------------------